Camphill School is an independent special needs day and residential school, which has been registered as a Section 21 Not-for-Profit Company (Registration No 21/52/7). It has also been endorsed by the Department of Social Services (NPO 003-320 NPO) and accredited by SARS (SA Revenue Services) as a Public Benefit Organisation with Section 18A status (Registration No 18/11/13/1234), which confers on South African donors the right to claim tax benefits. It is registered with the Western Cape Education Department as an independent special needs school (Registration No 13/3/1/215) and as such is allocated a limited subsidy.

In compliance with its founding Section 21 Memorandum and Articles of Association, Camphill School is governed by a Board of Directors, which meets roughly every six to eight weeks, and is elected by the Members of Camphill School at an Annual General Meeting. Its financial accounts are audited annually by a certified firm of Chartered Accountants and presented for scrutiny and approval at the Annual General Meeting.


Board Members 2021

Chairman: Mr Geoffrey Weir (Accountant (FCA) and businessman, Belfast, N. Ireland)
Vice-Chair: Ms Elma Young (Housemother)
Secretary/Treasurer: Dr Julio Laset (Medical doctor; father of a Camphill student)
Members: Mr Ray Potton (Retired businessman)
Mr Mbongeni Mazuthu (Police Officer, Hermanus)
Naomi May (Social Worker)